Vista Build 5342

Saturday 25th March, 2006 at 8:44 am 4 comments

Vista Build 5342 is out for those with an MSDN subscription or on the Beta program.  The new build has it’s quirks but all in all looks good so far.

If you’d like to get a nomination for the Vista Beta program – then checkout Outside the Cube here

*A handy tip – use the email contact form on his blog.

Entry filed under: Microsoft, Vista, x64.

When your spleen cannot take anymore.. Waking in the middle of the night..

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Snehal Patel  |  Monday 3rd April, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    Hi,
    I was expecting that the Build 5342 should come with WinFX preinstalled with it. But I am unsure about it. Does this new build come with WinFX?

    I have the DVD of Vista Build 5270. I am having Seagate 80 GB SATA HDD with AMD Athlon 3000+ CPU & ASUS Motherboard. I am having problem in installing Vista. Until the first reboot it works fine. But after the first reboot, it shows BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) and Crashes. I was wondering if you could help me with how to install the third party RAID/SATA Drivers during Vista Installation.

    Reply
  • 2. Snehal Patel  |  Monday 3rd April, 2006 at 1:40 pm

    Hi,
    I was expecting that the Build 5342 should come with WinFX preinstalled with it. But I am unsure about it. Does this refresh build come with WinFX?

    I have the DVD of Vista Build 5270. I am having Seagate 80 GB SATA HDD with AMD Athlon 3000+ CPU & ASUS Motherboard. I am having problem in installing Vista. Until the first reboot it works fine. But after the first reboot, it shows BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) and Crashes. I was wondering if you could help me with how to install the third party RAID/SATA Drivers during Vista Installation.

    Thanks in Advance.

    Snehal

    Reply
  • 3. Dasher  |  Monday 3rd April, 2006 at 1:51 pm

    If the OS installs ok – then it might not be the Sata drivers.
    Do you get a detailed message with the BSOD?

    If the BSOD message isn’t obvious as to the cause – then I would start by unplugging all external devices and see if you can boot. If still no luck – then in safe mode – disable modem/soundcard and see if that helps. I’ve had some problems with modems & soundcards causing BSOD – and it wasn’t possible to fix it until the machine was stable and the installation of the OS had completed.

    Reply
  • 4. iqbal  |  Monday 22nd May, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    I have the DVD of Vista Build 5270. I am having Seagate 80 GB SATA HDD with AMD Athlon xp 2200+ CPU & ASUS Motherboard. I am having problem in installing Vista. Until the first reboot it works fine. But after the first reboot, it shows BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) and Crashes. I was wondering if you could help me with how to install the third party RAID/SATA Drivers during Vista Installation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


